Last night, while taking the garbage out at 10:30 at night, I had an interesting incident…

I had to walk all the way down the driveway in the dark, because I had already taken the garbage can out for the garbage men for the following day.

I was putting my kitchen garbage bag in the garbage can when, all of a sudden, I heard a man’s voice saying, “Hello”, or something like that.

I was so scared, not knowing who was out there.  I don’t think it was a neighbor, because I didn’t see anyone’s lights on where we live.  I let out a blood curdling scream, sprinted back into the house, closed the garage door and locked every door.

My husband wasn’t home. I had to pick him up from work at 11:00, a half hour later. And, when I did.  I put both dogs in the minivan.  And, I got in the minivan with the garage door still shut.  I locked all 3 of us in the minivan and I hit the garage door opener from inside the minivan and drove out.

The only other time I got scared like that at night, was when Charlie was a puppy and he had to go outside.  After I took him out to do his business on a leash and I was opening the door to go back inside, Charlie in front of me, I heard these footsteps that sounded like a wild animal was running full fledge towards me.    I thought, “There is no way anything was running towards us because we lived in the suburbs.”

When I turned around, I was staring face to face with our neighbor’s German Shepherd.

He had gotten out of his fence and he had no collar on.  He wasn’t mean, but he was jumping on me and Charlie and trying to get into our house as Charlie and me were trying to escape into the house without him.  Needless to say, I screamed and probably woke up the whole neighborhood.

What made matters worse was, Charlie had diarrhea that night, and he had to go outside many times. And, the German Shepherd kept finding us every time we were outside and he kept jumping on us.

It was not a good night for Charlie or me.

 

Leave a Reply

